Random Play: Stoned Out Of My Mind

by Simon

The Chi-Lites: I first heard this, like a lot of people around these parts, through The Jam covering it on the b-side to their version of Move On Up that came with Beat Surrender in a double pack. I really like Weller’s version, I think it’s one of the best covers he has done over the years, a really understated vocal, and the way he sounds on the fade ad-libs is great.

But it’s not as good as the original, which just turned up as I sit here in sunny North London. The Chi-Lites version is more bouncy and funky and full of that beautiful falsetto vocal.

……Actually, listening to the two back to back The Jam’s version does a pretty damn good job. So I think I’ll post both of them!

Enjoy!!

The Chi-Lites – Stoned Out Of My Mind
The Jam – Stoned Out Of My Mind

