Takedowns Galore

by Simon

I managed to be under the radar for the first group of takedowns that were hitting seemingly everybody else. I had a visit from the ‘web sheriff’ asking politely to take something down but that was all.

This week I’ve had FOUR removals. To be honest it doesn’t bother me that much, the thought of some big corporation scanning the web looking for these things. Copyright law is copyright law, like it or not. And that’s a whole blog worth of thought and argument right there.

What does bother me is the fact that two of the tracks removed are pretty rare. You can’t buy them, so nobody’s sales are being affected. Which leads me to believe, (because anybody can make a complaint and get your post removed, it doesn’t have to be a big corporation bullying us little folk)that it was actually some collector worrying about the value of his/her collection being affected by the availability of a tune.

Yup that’s right. I think it was somebody just like me. One of the little folk.

And that’s really sad.

(Any more removals may just lead to the blog disappearing. Blogger do that from time to time. If that happens don’t panic. Take note of my blog list to the right and keep an eye open on their comments. I’ll be back if my pages do a disappearing act…..)

