Glory Boys

by Simon

A good week off right now, shame about the file share not working.   I’m trying to get it sorted, but I may have to look around for a new one.  In the meantime there’s youtube and tracks like this.

Secret Affair will be familiar to most people of a similar age, being the Mod revival band from the late seventies.  But if you ask most people what song they know, you’ll hear Time For Action.  My World was a later single, which I found for 50p in my local record shop in the mid 80s.  I bought it without knowing it, although once it was on the turntable I realised I’d heard it on the radio when it was out.

It sounds  like early misty mornings going to school, wearing the old school uniform and hating going to PE.  Reading 2000AD and watching Monkey and Battlestar Galactica.

It also sounds a little like a cross between Springsteen and ELO.  Or is that just me?

We are the Mods, we are the Mods, we are, we are, we are the Mods!

