Rancid

by Simon

One of the bonuses about being at home has been time to listen to music properly. I listen on the train, but it’s surprising how much you stop listening when it’s over headphones at 6.30 in the morning. I love listening to music in a room, loud and with room to jump around.

Anyhow, I’m listening to loads of American ‘indie’ rock stuff. Going back over thirty years, including things like Nirvana. Stuff that I know, but never really got off on. One of the things that’s lighting my fire currently is American punk band Rancid. I’d sort of registered them before but never investigated. Bored out of my mind and in a state of constant irritation from the chickenpox they make a lot of sense.

It’s the sort of thing I would have loved when I was 16, rough and ready, Clash, Specials, Pistols, Pogues and heading off into that almost football chant singalong punk that people like Sham 69 excelled at. Music that was made to be played loud!

Rancid – Timebomb
Rancid – Ruby Soho

