Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

by Simon

I’m digging into the 60s at the moment, but not the usual Mod/Small Faces/Motown thing. No, I’m listening to things that I remember hearing on the radio growing up, those Jimmy Saville shows with the top twenty from some bygone age.

Of course 1965 was nearer to 1985 than we are to 1985….

Anyway, I’m listening to The Hollies (Carousel), and tracks like Bobby Vee’s The Night Has A 1000 Eyes (surely a prequel to The Who’s I Can See For Miles?), and Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons.

Frankie Valli’s voice reminds me of childhood. My mum and dad both loved their songs, and for years I thought they were twee. Until I got into Northern Soul, when several songs by them turned up on a regular basis.

Here’s a couple of odds and sods: A version of Dylan’s Queen Jane Approximately from the mid 60s and an absolute classic tune that was a Northern stormer in the 70s.

