Gorillaz

by Simon

JC over at Vinyl Villain has posted Damon Albarn’s Gorillaz today, their first single Tomorrow Comes Today. I love Gorillaz. I was definitely more of a Blur fan than Oasis back in the Britpop Wars but I far prefer what Damon has done with Gorillaz. I do love my electronics and textures, and Gorillaz are chock full with both.

Also some of the strongest songs he has written. Hong Kong for instance is one of the most moving and beautiful things I’ve heard in a long time, and Feel Good Inc is one of the all time great pop songs if you want to know my opinion. The latter is easily my single of the century so far.

I also like the sketchier stuff, an element of Gorillaz which makes them ripe for remixing. So much stuff comes across as almost unfinished leaving plenty of room for the remixer to add their own personality.

(A friend of mine worked on a session with Damon for The Good, The Bad And The Queen as part of a choir. She reckons the track was basically a chord sequence when they arrived and some of the arrangement was down to them. She also speaks of a very smoky atmosphere in the studio…)

Here’s one of those remixes. This one of the Demon Days track Kids With Guns is by Hot Chip and is a perfect collision of their sound and Gorillaz. More textures than you can shake a stick at. And a lovely lovely feel.

Ps. The new fanclub album The Fall is great…streaming on the Gorillaz site now…

