JJ – If This Is Love

by Simon

I’ve been stuck in a Boards Of Canada loop this week, which is great, but I’ve not much to write about them. So a switch to random play and this track came up, JJ, If This Is Love.

JJ was a duo from the early 90s, pushing a Fleetwood Mac meets Judie Tzuke thing and their only album Intro pretty much came and went unnoticed. If This Is Love was a single and was a regular on my Walkman at the time. It’s the sound of a hot summer, an unrequited love and chill outs after a night out for me. I was 21 at the time and having a pretty good time despite the unrequited stuff. I don’t miss that feeling I tell you. But back then I think I used to wallow in it a little bit. I did want to be a romantic songwriter after all.

The voice of JJ is Jan Johnston who went on to work on countless Trance recordings through the last two decades. Head to http://www.janjohnston.com for more info.

